Childbride – Unicef Photo of the year

Unicef Photo of the year 2007, by Stephanie SinclairI saw this photo a couple of days ago, and have not been able to take it out of my head ever since. The picture sent shivers down my spine. I got a sudden urge to protect this little girl. This angelically beautiful girl, with all her dreams and hopes crushed. My mind just can’t accept the view in this picture. It’s wrong, wrong, WRONG!

This child, eleven years old is married to a 40 years old man! Her parents married (sold) her to this man, because they couldn’t afford to keep her. The minimum age for brides in Afghanistan is sixteen. How I wish I could take all these small angels under my wings, protect them, give them education and a carefree childhood!

Can you imagine? 150 000 teenagers die due to pregnancy complications? Their small bodies are not made to carry children. About one-third of the child-brides in Egypt are victims of domestic violence.

This little girl was promised education by her “husband”. Which will never happen….

I have no daughter of my own. This girls picture is forever etched in my mind. I wish I could protect her!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sustainablespain
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 19:40:04

    This photo made me cry when I first saw it. The injustice of this world – especially towards women and girls – is astonishing. I am so glad I live in Europe.

    Reply

  2. zulfiqar Ali Khan
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 21:20:20

    Women are still considered as property in most of the traditional and tribal societies. even i saw in europe also women are not truely empowered.

    I always think…….why ??///

    Reply

  3. Debbs
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 11:53:19

    And then you get 58 year old men who treats 30 year old woman as their equal when it comes to emotional issues. They pretend that the 30 year old is the only person who understands them and “use’ these girls as a method against loneliness. Yes, at 30, woman are old enough to make their own choices but not mature enough to see through the lies of these older men. They love the attention of these older men. Sad indeed but not as sad as the childbride in the picture. Also make me want to cry.

    Reply

Leave a comment