Life without roti – living lowcarb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those who haven’t tried a diet once in their life, please stand up! No one? I thought so.

Name a “diet” and I have done it. Not easy combining fat-free living with desi food. I am self confessed foodie. I love making and eating food. My preferences fluctuate from desi to italian to norwegian. Above all this however is the fact that I am a true carb-junkie! I love my pasta, naan, norwegian bread and last but not least potatoes. In any form, like a true Norwegian🙂

Well like the heading here suggests, I am a carb-junkie no more! For me personally, it is nothing short of a revolution. To cut a long story short; I have totally cut out fast carbs from my diet. Imagine a desi dinner without roti, naan or chawal (rice). Unimaginable isn’t it. Well naturally, I don’t eat lots of desi food anymore. Doesn’t fit with a low-carb diet.

I hate the word diet. This is no “diet”. I have just changed my way of eating. I still am a foodie, and love delicious food. However the challenge now is to make tasty food without the white carbs. Not possible one would think. Oh but it is. Possible that is. I still make the same food as I did earlier. Instead of boiled, fried potatoes, pasta or rice we eat lentils and beans. Yes, that’s right. The daal we have hated since childhood. Never have I eaten so much daal in my entire life. And guess what: I love it!! Masoor daal puree, moong daal/channa tangy salad. etc etc.

So a normal day would look like this:

breakfast:knekkebrød (wasa fiber plus) with a whole tin of “makrell i tomat”. ( A true omega3 bomb with 3-4 grams of it)

Lunch: A horrendously large salad with chicken/tuna and tinned beans. All the greens and veggies you love.  OR fried eggs with backed beans. YUMMY!

Fruit and nuts

Dinner: Fish/chicken/meat with loads of veggies and some sort of a daal.

Evning: omelete or 0.1 Yoplait yogurt with fruits or berries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t tell you how healthy i feel. I eat bundles of omega3, nuts, fruits, veggies and lean meat. And ofcourse lots of olive oil.

This is no “fat-free” diet. I eat as much as i want. But let me tell you not only do you get wonderful skin, and healthy tummy you also loose weight. The “diet” prevents sugarlevel raise and fall, hence preventing developing diabetes and helping those with diabetes. It keeps your colon super healty. AND you feel great.

When we come home after grocery shopping our kitchen table is fludding over with veggies, fruits and all things healty. That makes me sooo happy! I am in this wholeheartedly. Lets hope it lasts forever.

I will be putting up my low-carb dinners!!!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mint
    May 14, 2008 @ 03:59:41

    Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too : http://about-atkins-diet.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye

    Reply

  2. Lush
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 13:35:51

    I have been recently ill and am currently on a BRAT diet— bananas, rice, apples, and toast…. but not in a raw form, so everything has to be cooked. The bread has to be low fiber and no oil or butter on it…YES, I am NOT a happy person, but at least I can read your blog to entertain me!

    Great posts!

    LUSH
    ps thanks for previously stopping by my site a while back. just wanted to persoanlly thank you!

    Reply

  3. Reema
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 07:07:19

    Yep, I agree with you and yes I learned a few tips too.

    Reply

  4. Jessica
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 07:32:02

    Superb Info here,
    What a fun post🙂 I must say that i am really impressed to read this stuff here. I look forward to read more stuffs from you. I am also digging this post. Totally enthu about this great post. Wish you good luck for your future Endeavors.

    Regards,
    Jessica,
    Texas, United States.
    contact @ makemoneykingdom.com

    Reply

  5. V.
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 15:36:57

    I love mackerel fish in that lovely sweet tomato sauce that you can find in stores here in Norway. Putting that on halved and lightly toasted rolls with freshly cracked pepper on top, is a great dinner!

    Reply

  6. Kashif
    May 21, 2010 @ 12:13:35

    hi Shazia

    i see this post was made about two years ago. Ive just moved to this low carb diet and i am strictly following atkins rules. Just wanted to know, how is it going now after two years. are you still on low carb? still no pizza, roti, bread ?? how do you feel

    hope to hear from you.

    Kashif
    Gurjanwala, Pakistan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

