The D-vitamin Movement!!

bilde_for_d_logo.jpg

Let me clarify at the very outset, I’m no doctor (for those who haven’t read “about me”). But having a chronic and severe lack of D vitamin in my body I know a thing or two about D vitamins.

Being a woman and not just any but a Norwegian-Pakistani woman I got dealt some weak cards as far as health was concerned. With 2/3 of the elderly Norwegian-Pakistani women having diabetes type 2 I have a thing or two to worry about. My mother being one of these doesn’t make it any easier. Not only that, many of our mothers also live with severe chronic joint and muscle pains. I know, because I have experienced it first hand. My mother have them all. She is a beautiful, strong and graceful woman. She had a strong and slim body most part of her life. She never suffered from any pains or illnesses when she was young. Contrary to me!

The last couple of years I have been struggling to find out why I have been having all sorts of muscle and joint pains, a weak immune system and higher pain sensitivity. I got all my answer a while back when I got to know that my D-vitamin values were nearly zero!

Being true to myself I took the news in a nonchalant manner. Knowing nothing about this vitamin I went about my life as usual, taking the prescribed d-vitamin pills every now and then. But with time I had to pay attention to what my body was trying to tell me. I googled a lot on d vitamin and what i found was not a pleasant reading.

Lack of D vitamin can cause some serious and even fatal illnesses. Research show that the horrible Multiple Scleroses is a illness getting more common in immigrants in Norway, especially women. There is also ample research showing a clear connection between lack of d vitamin and many kind of cancers. The most common symptom however is severe muscle and joint pains and even depression.

Norway, the land of midnight sun is not that sunny at all. Over half of the year you hardly get any sun exposure. Vanity keeps the Norwegian Pakistani women from getting sun on their face and body as most of them prefer being pale. Sun is the main source of vitamin D, followed by fish. Naturally the body does not get to produce the required amount of vitamin D.

The consequences of your body being deprived of vitamin D are so severe and effecting so many desi women that one can’t sit idle and watch what’s going on. Myself and X-plosiv has therefore started the D-vitamin movement. Main objective being information about vitamin D and how one can get it and what a lack can do to your body. We want everybody to know that this is a serious health issue effecting all the desi women in Norway and can not be taken lightly.

I know take my vitamin D pills religiously! It is devastating to be a young mother of two and have to battle aches and pains in the entire body due to a lack that can be fixed easily. I just hope I am not too late. And my strongest wish is to make everyone aware of it make them take responsibility for their health!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pnuthead
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 17:15:14

    I really like your article, I am a srong believer in vitamin D aswell but have not yet tunred to a supplement but I have been looking around. In the meen time I have been taking a tablespoon of cod liver oil everyday which contains 1300 IU(international units) of D which is huge. And like you mentioned fish itself ita great source that I try to eat quite often. If interested here is some more info on vitamin D and vitamin D deficiency.

    Reply

  2. shazia
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 17:49:22

    Hey, thanks for a superb link! Cod liver oil is the thing… here in Norway we have a thing called Tran, which has been taken by norwegians for generations. Tran is cod liver oil with adequete amounts of vitamin d. Problem is that colored people dont take tran!

    Reply

  3. mo79uk
    Feb 22, 2008 @ 23:55:25

    I’m British Asian and too have noticed patterns of vitamin D deficiency related in illness in my immediate and extended family. I take 5000IU a day – not a dosage to worry about when we can make 10,000IU daily under sufficient UVB.

    We have to remember that darker skin exists to filter the sun, but now that humans can freely move via high speed transport we now reside in places that either gives us too much or too little sun. Usually too little for most of with our habits. The addressing of D levels is vital to everyone, but is of grave concern to Asians, blacks and the elderly.

    Reply

  4. Baremeg
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 23:50:40

    I really like your blogg! Make a notice on the fact that many pakistani also have lactoseintolerance, and in Norway you get milk stuffed in every mixed food you get in the store.

    Many foregners also react to our milk, because its another proteintype than in India/Pakistan (Norway has a1 milk, and not a2 milk, as the asian world and africa traditionally mostly did) http://www.nzdoctor.co.nz/news?article=1d81b30f-8bf3-4db3-b838-e5210fead0d9.

    Glutenintolerance is also misdiagnosed in many cases. Celiacdesease is one manifestation, intolerance as a variety of allergy is another.

    Both milk and gluten is connected to Vitamin D Deficiency, not by all researchers, but by many.

    Talk to your doctor about this if you don´t get all that well on D-vitamin, or try to exclude wheat and milk from your diet for 4-6 weeks to see if you feel a huge difference or not.

    Reply

  5. shazia
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 07:47:25

    Baremeg! Funny you would say that. I have just recently started a diet which excludes all high carbs and most diery products. I did that for vanity reasons, but guess what? No more stomach pains!!! I have had stomach pains for a while now and have been depressed about it. I think me not eatin bread and other wheat products is helping. I have never been a milk-fan….but give me cheese anytime.

    So yes, I believe you are right regarding lactoseintolerance and gluten as well.

    I am taking 400iu of d-vitamin in combination with calsium twice every day.

    Reply

  6. Thor Indseth
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:08:10

    For more information go to: http://www.mighealth.net/no and search for Vitamin D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

