It’s sunday, and I made Aloo-parathas! (not waffles) :-)

mat-028.jpg

After reading my post on waffles and Sundays a number of times, I got a process going in my mind. Apparently there was a void in my Sunday-morning-breakfast-life. Parathas!!!

Well, I left all my inhibitions and did what had to be done. This morning I made parathas the way my dad made them. It took me two hours, but boy did it pay of!

mat-021.jpgYou  can buy Atta (desi chapati flour) from any desi-store (innvandrerbutikk). But if you like me today don’t have any in hand, just mix equal amounts of plain flour and Fibra. Just plain flour won’t do it. Add a little salt and knead well with luke warm water. Boil som potatoes and mash the well, add some salt, red chilli powder, garam masala, fresh koriander and Zeera powder. (Watch out, a little goes a long way).

mat-019.jpg  mat-024.jpg mat-025.jpg

Now make balls of dough and knead them out a little. Take two dough balls, put the potatoemix on one and the other “ball” on the top. Squeeze the ends well and then use a rolling pin to make Parathas. Fry them in some oil/butter!

Parathas are eaten with a variety of things, but we always ate them with yogurt natural with some sugar in it, mango pickle and fried eggs (sometimes). You can eat them with whatever you prefer.

One thing I can promise you is a truly “desi” culinary experience! (There won’t be any dinner today, these fill you enough for the whole day)!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pure
    Dec 02, 2007 @ 20:42:19

    Yummy!!! Shazia what a great blog you have. Will be visiting your blog:) Keep up the good work

    Reply

  2. Amjad28
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 23:41:03

    I’m not too fond of parathas. They are way too greasy, and unhealthy for my liking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

